West Perth Women's Award Night

Monday, November 2, 2020 - 12:34 PM

West Perth Women's Award Night

Our teams recently marked the end of the most extraordinary season in fine style with a formal event held at The West Perth Function Room.

The disjointed year certainly didn’t impact the night, which saw over 150 people come together to celebrate the achievements of our teams and the individuals whom made it all possible.

Sandra Down & Zoe Jones, our co-hosts for the night, certainly provided some great entertainment and banter throughout

Lily Hayward, a proud Noongar woman, opened proceedings with an Acknowledgement of Country and formally accepted a gift from

Sharon Wood-Kenney in recognition of the great respect shown by the club during the process of creating the Female Indigenous Guernsey.

Tracy Gallagher, Director of Female Football and a long-standing Falcons player herself,

recapped that even in a stop-start season the female teams were able to accomplish some great results and most importantly the Senior (Reserves) side created a bit of history by being the first WPFC Female side to play WAFLW finals.

While the Under 18’s (Rogers Cup) side just missed their place by just 10%, the result was a brilliant result given 60% of the team were debutants.

The signing of our major sponsor BGC Housing Group certainly enabled some fantastic initiatives, nothing more notable than the Female Indigenous Program to help young females in our district to explore their dreams in Australian Rules Football.

With the formalities taken care of the awards part of the evening got under way with speeches by the Captains from the two sides and the presentation of the leading goal kickers

  • Elissa Price for the Rogers Cup
  • Courtney Collard for the Reserves

both surprisingly ended the short 7 game season on 13 goals.

All clubs are only ever as good as the volunteers within, Bethan Beck read out the amazing efforts of three very dedicated people who went over and above in 2020.
Sam Servaas for her brilliant effort with the merchandise and player uniforms, Michelle Smith for really making a difference with player welfare amongst many other things she did, but the overall kudos went to Tracy Gallagher, who managed to juggle, Board position, sub-committee chair, playing and being a mum.

The focus of the evening was crowning our outstanding players for 2020.

Award winners for Rogers Cup

  • Fairest & Best – Leuk Nelson-Marsden
  • Fairest & Best runner up – Mahli Turland & Tahli Wilkins
  • Falcon of the Year – Jaymee Duke
  • Coaches Award – Natalie Bennett
  • Best Defender – Liliana Grassenis

Award Winners for Reserves

  • Fairest & Best – Katherine Bennett
  • Fairest & Best runner up – Kelly Keane
  • Falcon of the Year – Ashleigh Greenwell
  • Coaches Award – Cameron Dawson
  • Best Defender – Tiahna Scandrett