Select grade below

Nelson joins Elite Company with 4th Breckler Medal.

Monday, November 2, 2020 - 12:28 PM

Nelson joins Elite Company with 4th Breckler Medal.

Champion midfielder Shane Nelson claimed his 4th Breckler Medal as West Perth’s Fairest & Best player for Season 2020. In doing so Nelson moved into equal 3rd on the all-time list of Fairest & Best Winners at the Club, joining Checker O’Keefe who won 4 Fairest & Bests between 1938 – 1941. There is only two men that have won more fairest & best awards in the club’s history and they are Ray Schofield (5) and AFL Hall of Famer, Mel Whinnen (9).

Nelson had an extraordinary season averaging over 26 disposals, 6 tackles and maintained his clearance supremacy as one of the premier midfielders in the competition.  It’s the 7th time in the past 9 seasons that Shane has finished in the Top 5 of the count which is exceptional.

Skipper Aaron Black was 2nd winning the Jason Salecic Medal for Runner-up Fairest & Best. Black also had a brilliant season averaging over 25 possessions a game and 5 tackles whilst leading his team to a Preliminary Final.  Like Nelson, Aaron has been exceptionally consistent over his 200 games of football. This season was the 8th time Black has finished in the Top 3 of the Fairest & Best.

Defender Zac Guadagnin and premier mid-fielder Luke Meadows tied for 3rd place whilst Laine Rasmussen rounded out the Top 5 place getters.

Other Award Winners included:

  • Rising Star Award – Zak Patterson
  • Wayne Dayman Medal (Most Courageous Player) – Laine Rasmussen
  • Ray Scott Medal (Leading Goal Kicker) – Tyler Keitel
  • Carbone-DeVita Award (Best Clubman) – Nathan Alexandre
  • League Players Player – Luke Meadows
  • Reserves Players Player – Mitch Antonio

In the Reserves, Ruckman Troy Yukich shared the Ennis Medal with first year player Sasha Kernutt. Kernutt who was recruited to the Club from Mines Rovers finished the season strongly making his league debut in Round 9 before playing both finals games. In equal 3rd place was Lachie Johns and Tom Boyes who both also made their league debut’s this season and Ben King rounded out the Top 5.

Final Results League

1st – Shane Nelson – 31 Votes

2nd - Aaron Black – 19 Votes

Equal 3rd – Zac Guadagnin & Luke Meadows – 17 Votes

5th – Laine Rasmussen – 14 Votes

Final Results Reserves

Equal 1st – Sasha Kernutt & Troy Yukich – 14 Votes

Equal 3rd – Tom Boyes & Lachie Johns – 12 Votes

5th – Ben King – 10 Votes